My experiences as a mum- Naana

This is the first of our series where young mothers share their experiences on juggling career and studies with having kids and creating time for the family at the same time. The ultimate aim is to help and also motivate aspiring and first-time mothers and fellow mothers out there.

Our mum for this week is Naana, a mother of 3 lovely kids. She is a law student and recently started a blog to share her testimonies on the goodness of God in her life. You can subscribe to the site ahead of her first post: godsgoodnessblog.wordpress.com

Here goes her story……………..

So I have been married for the past 6 years and I can confidently say it has been the best decision I have ever taken in my life. Fortunately for me I had a lot of pet talks with my mum who has been married for 40 years and is till very happily married. These little advices which she gave me really prepared me for the life long journey ahead of me” marriage “. We spoke at length including my personal aspirations for the future to the number of kids I would love to give birth to.

I can’t take all the credit for being able to stay sane with three kids and being able to pursue a law degree .  This is because first of all I have a very supportive husband who takes pride in the fact that am aiming for a brighter future for myself and the family. My parents who have been my pillar from the onset have helped in diverse ways. I had to do evening school and with my husband on transfer the main job of taking the kids to school as early as 6:30 am was my responsibility and picking them up before going to School by 4:00 pm. In between I had to do the cooking for the day, laundry and ironing of the kids clothing. With time it became routine and I doubled up as the father seeing to utility and home maintenance, not forgetting p.t.a s which I attend without fail.

I mentioned my parents as being very supportive because after picking the kids up from school my dad who is now on pension occupies them till I come. In order not to burden him I see to their home works before leaving for school. My law degree took 3 years to complete and God being so good I was able to have 2 kids by the time I was done. It was my desire to finish child-bearing by the time i was done with school and with a lot of prayers and self-determination my husband and I were able to achieve our heart desires.

I faced certain challenges as well in my desire to give birth before I was done with school. Interestingly both kids were born in the month of may in 2014 and 2016 with just three days apart. What made it tough was the fact that they were born during the examination period. I was so determined not to defer because as it already stands the law degree is pretty hard and I was able by God’s grace to gather the energy to finish hard. I nursed the kids and studied to finish and thanks to God scored As on some of my papers.

As I always say to my friends it is only God that makes the difference. Without His help, I honestly wouldn’t have made it. I know my future is bright because I have him and the love of family. A little advice for my fellow young mothers, motherhood makes us special and its OK to feel tired at times so it is Ok to ask for help when necessary. Also make time for the husband because after the kids are grown and left home the husbands will remain and it will only be left with the friendship between you too. I love being a mum and won’t trade with for the world. Kids are indeed a blessing……….

Share your stories with other young mothers by sending an email to omtsdigest@gmail.com.

You never know, but the simplest of life experiences can just be the strong motivational force in the life of another. Sharing makes the difference…..

OMT
“Share your life with others. You will have a joyful life.”

― Lailah Gifty Akita

 

One thought on “My experiences as a mum- Naana

Leave a Reply

