Cajun Shrimp Scampi rice recipe

 

If it was left to me alone, I would be stuck to the traditional ghanaian home dishes of jollof rice, plain rice, ampesi, fufu, banku etc just because I am not adventurous with food. I am the kind that complains about the monotonous nature of our dishes and yet still makes no effort to try out new ones. I prefer to be safe than sorry with what goes into my tummy. No running things! My husband is however the opposite, he loves to try out new recipes and am sure some of you have seen a few pictures of the chow on my instagram page displaying the results of his cooking skills. A few people reached out to me for the recipes after seeing the pictures, this inspired me to write this up as the Chef is not willing to do so.

Name: Cajun Shrimp Scampi rice (I could never get the name right!, small food we go chow too big name)

Source of food inspirationTastemade UK recipe for Cajun Shrimp Skampi

Personal Chef: Essentially Yao aka Chef Mo

And yours truly OMT and Lady J have the important role of eating and tasting!!!

NB: The original source has the recipe and video to assist you if you want to try it out.

Food edits/changes made by Chef

  1. The chicken broth is the same as chicken stock. To be clear, just chop some few chicken pieces then steam and spice (garlic, ginger, pepper and another spice of your choice), the resulting liquid is called the chicken broth. You are welcome 🙂 and please don’t steam the chicken dry or else there will be no broth.
  2. We didn’t have dried basil so it was excluded from our version.

Feedback

According to my taste’s glands food was tasty and spicy. I actually had two rounds. As for Lady J all she was interested in was the shrimps which she refers to as FISH, so I eat the rice and she takes the shrimps.

Pictures from my phone (not so clear though but we can manage)

IMAG0633

Ignore the kenkey (evident of my oneway food style) in background

IMAG0635

Trying to capture the cooking process. 🙂

IMAG0638IMAG0641IMAG0642IMAG0637

IMG_20170430_230014_717

You should try it out! If you do, let me know how it turned out.

Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

